Assignment 1 – Project I – Reflective thoughts

While researching childrens books online, I found that my search results kept bringing up what i considered to be ‘Adult’ books. e.g

Clan of the Cave Bear by Jean. M. Auel

Roots by Alex Haley

The Thornbirds by Colleen McCullough

These are all books I read in my twenties.

It took a while to realise that children’s book are categorised right up to the age of eighteen. Funny how I always think of children as being pre-teen. maybe it’s because my grandchildren are pre-teen at the moment. It started me thinking about HOW publishers classify books by age. It is mainly done for educational reasons at the outset to help children learn to read through not only appropiate words that meet school curriculums but also using pictures to enhance the storytelling. As a child gets older, the pictures are used less and the words become more important to increase vocabulary, paint the pictures in the mind. It seems that this is also the point where decisions are made about which words are appropriate for each age category.

I read Private Peaceful by Michael Morpurgo as my first set book. i borrowed it from my 9 year old grandson. I can’t believe it is for his age group. Perhaps it is my age that makes me think that QUOTE ‘ You want to get your nuts blown off, Peaceful?’  Does Michael Morpurgo decide on the age classification or is that the publisher’s job?  Looks like more research to be done.

One thought on “Assignment 1 – Project I – Reflective thoughts

Leave a Reply

